Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Jordanian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Jordanian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2016, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2016
Date Day Holiday Country
31-Dec Thursday New Year’s Day United States / Jordan
17-Jan Sunday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday United States
14-Jan Sunday Washington's Birthday United States
24-Apr Sunday Palm Sunday Jordan
1-May Sunday Labor Say Jordan
2-May Monday Orthodox Easter Jordan
25-May Wednesday Jordanina independence day Jordan
29-May Sunday Memorial Day Jordan
4-Jul Monday Independence Day United States
6-7 Jul Wednesday-Thursday Eid-al-Fitr* Jordan
4-Sep Sunday Labor Day United States
12-13 Sep Sunday - Monday Eid-al-Adha* Jordan
2-Oct Sunday Islamic New Year * Jordan
9-Oct Sunday Columbus Day United States
10-Nov Thursday Veterans Day United States
24-Nov Thursday Thanksgiving Day United States
25-Dec Sunday Christmas United States