Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Georgian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center Georgia is closed on Saturdays, Sundays, January 1, and December 25.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

The following is a list of Georgian/US holidays that the Embassy will observe in 2018.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year's Day USA/Georgia
January 2 Tuesday New Year's Day Holiday Georgia
January 15 Monday M.L. King Jr. Birthday USA
January 19 Friday Epiphany (Orthodox) Georgia
February 19 Monday President's Day USA
March 8 Thursday International Women’s day Georgia
April 6 Friday Good Friday (Orthodox) Georgia
April 9 Monday Easter Monday (Orthodox) /Memorial Day Georgia
May 9 Wednesday Victory Day Georgia
May 28 Monday Memorial Day USA
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day USA
August 28 Tuesday Assumption of the Virgin (Mariamoba) Georgia
September 3 Monday Labor Day USA
October 8 Monday Columbus Day USA
November 12 Friday Veteran's Day USA
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day/St. George’s Day Gerogia/USA
November 23 Friday St. George’s Day Gerogia
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day Holiday USA

The following Georgian holidays are also observed, but they fall on a weekend in 2018. No additional leave credit is given for them:

January 7 Sunday Christmas (Orthodox) Georgia
March 3 Saturday Mother's Day Georgia
April 8 Sunday Orthodox Easter Georgia
May 12 Saturday Apostle Andrew’s Day Georgia
May 26 Saturday Independence Day Georgia
October 14 Sunday Svetitskhovloba Georgia