Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and other U.S. agencies in Abidjan observe both U.S. and Ivorian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Ivorian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

In 2017, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the below dates.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
DATE DAY OF WEEK HOLIDAY COUNTRY
January 2 (observed) Monday New Year’s Day U.S., Côte d’Ivoire
January 16 Monday MLK Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday President's Day U.S.
April 17 Monday Easter Monday Côte d’Ivoire
May 1 Monday Labor Day, C.I Côte d’Ivoire
May 25 Thursday Ascension Côte d’Ivoire
June 5 Monday Pentecost Monday Côte d’Ivoire
June TBD Night of Destiny (Laylat Al Qadr) Côte d’Ivoire
June TBD End of Ramadan (Eid Al Fitr) Côte d’Ivoire
July 4 Tuesday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 7 Monday Independence Day, C.I. Côte d’Ivoire
August 15 Tuesday Assumption Day Côte d’Ivoire
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September TBD Tabaski (Eid Al Adha) Côte d’Ivoire
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 1 Wednesday All Saints Day Côte d’Ivoire
November 10 (observed) Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 15 Thursday National Peace Day Côte d’Ivoire
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December TBD Mawlid (Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday) Côte d’Ivoire
December 25
Monday Christmas Day U.S., Côte d’Ivoire