Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

 

The following American and Ukrainian holidays will be observed in 2020 by the Embassy.

Holiday Day Date Country
New Year's Day Wednesday January 1 U.S./Ukraine
Observed governmental day Monday January 6 Ukraine
Orthodox Christmas Tuesday January 7 Ukraine
M. L. King's Birthday Monday January 20 U.S.
Presidents' Day Monday February 17 U.S.
International Women's Day (observed) Monday March 9* Ukraine
Orthodox Easter (observed) Monday April 20* Ukraine
International Labor Day Friday May 1 Ukraine
Victory Day (observed) Monday May 11* Ukraine
Memorial Day Monday May 25 U.S.
Holy Trinity Day (observed) Monday June 8* Ukraine
Constitution Day (observed) Monday June 29* Ukraine
Independence Day  (observed) Friday July 3* U.S.
Independence Day  Monday August 24 Ukraine
Labor Day Monday September 7 U.S.
Columbus Day Monday October 12 U.S.
Ukrainian Defenders Day Wednesday October 14 Ukraine
Veterans Day  Wednesday November 11 U.S.
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 26 U.S.
Christmas Day  Friday December 25 U.S./Ukraine

*”Observed” means that if a holiday falls on Saturday/ Sunday, it is observed on Monday (by Ukrainian law) and on Friday or Monday (by U.S. law).

The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine may make additional changes to the holiday schedule during the year. Should this occur, we will update and republish this notice.