Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Ukrainian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed on weekends, and on Ukrainian and U.S. holidays, as observed by the U.S. Embassy.

Embassy Dates of Closure

The following American and Ukrainian holidays will be observed in 2021 by the Embassy.

Holiday Day Date Country
New Year's Day Friday January 1 U.S./Ukraine
Orthodox Christmas Thursday January 7 Ukraine
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday January 18 U.S.
Presidents' Day Monday February 15 U.S.
International Women's Day Monday March 8 Ukraine
International Labor Day(observed) Monday *May 3 Ukraine
Orthodox Easter (observed) Tuesday *May 4 Ukraine
Victory Day(observed) Monday *May 10 Ukraine
Memorial Day Monday May 31 U.S.
Holy Trinity Day(observed) Monday *June 21 Ukraine
Constitution Day Monday June 28 Ukraine
Independence Day(observed) Monday *July 5 U.S.
Independence Day Tuesday August 24 Ukraine
Labor Day Monday September 6 U.S.
Columbus Day Monday October 11 U.S.
Ukrainian Defenders Day Thursday October 14 Ukraine
Veterans Day Thursday November 11 U.S.
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 25 U.S.
Christmas Day(observed) Friday *December 24 U.S.
Christmas Day(observed) Monday *December 27 Ukraine
New Year's Day(observed) Friday December 31 U.S.

*”Observed” means that if a holiday falls on Saturday/ Sunday, it is observed on Monday (by Ukrainian law) and on Friday or Monday (by U.S. law).

The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine may make additional changes to the holiday schedule during the year. Should this occur, we will update and republish this notice.