Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and El Salvador holidays and will be closed on those dates.The call center also observes the same holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2020, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day U.S./El Salvador
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 17 Monday President’s Day U.S.
April 9 Thursday Holy Thursday El Salvador
April 10 Friday Good Friday El Salvador
April 11 Saturday Easter Saturday El Salvador
April 12 Sunday Easter Sunday El Salvador
May 1 Friday Labor Day El Salvador
May 10 Sunday Mother's Day El Salvador
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 17 Wednesday Father's Day El Salvador
July 3 Friday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 3 through August 6 Monday through Thursday Feast of San Salvador El Salvador
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 15 Tuesday Independence Day El Salvador
October 12 Monday Columbus Day  U.S.
November 2 Monday All Souls' Day El Salvador
November 11 Wednesday Veteran’s Day  U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Friday Christmas Day (Observance) U.S./El Salvador