Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Freetown observes both U.S. and Sierra Leonen holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Sierra Leonen holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2022
Date Day Holiday Country
December 31 Friday New Year's Day U.S., Sierra Leone
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday U.S.
February 18 Friday President's Day U.S.
February 21 Monday Armed Forces Day Sierra Leone
March 8 Tuesday International Women's Day Sierra Leone
April 15 Friday Good Friday Sierra Leone
April 18 Monday Easter Monday Sierra Leone
April 27 Wednesday Independence Day Sierra Leone
May 2 Monday International Workers Day Sierra Leone
May 3 Tuesday (TBA) Eid-Al-Fitr Sierra Leone
May 30 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 17 Observed Monday Juneteenth U.S.
July 4 Monday Independence Day U.S.
July 10 Sunday (TBA) Eid al-Adha/Tabaski Sierra Leone
September 5 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Saturday (TBA) Mawlid-Al-Nabi Sierra Leone
October 10 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Friday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 26 Observed on Monday Christmas Day U.S., Sierra Leone
December 26 Monday Boxing Day Sierra Leone

TBA - Muslim holidays to be announced (TBA) depending on the appearance of the moon.