Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Slovak holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and Slovakia national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2020, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Country Holiday
January 1 Wednesday U.S. / Slovakia New Year’s Day
January 6 Monday Slovakia Epiphany
January 20 Monday U.S. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
February 17 Monday U.S. Washington’s Birthday
April 10 Friday Slovakia Good Friday
April 13 Monday Slovakia Easter Monday
May 1 Friday Slovakia Slovak Labor Day
May 8 Friday Slovakia End of World War II
May 25 Monday U.S Memorial Day
July 3 Friday U.S. Independence Day
September 1 Tuesday Slovakia Slovak Constitution Day (National Day of Slovak Republic)
September 7 Monday U.S. Labor Day
September 15 Tuesday Slovak The Day of the Virgin Mary of the Seven Sorrows
October 12 Monday U.S. Columbus Day
November 11 Wednesday U.S. Veterans’ Day
November 17 Tuesday Slovakia Day of the Fight for Freedom & Democracy
November 26 Thursday U.S. Thanksgiving Day
December 24 Thursday Slovakia Christmas Day
December 25 Friday U.S./Slovakia Christmas Day
December 26 Saturday Slovakia St. Stephen’s Day