Holidays and Closures

On this page:

Overview

The U.S. Embassy/Consulate observes both U.S. and Russian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Russian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy/Consulate Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - Remaining Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S.
Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year Holidays U.S., Russia
January 2 - 3 Thu - Fri New Year Holidays Russia
January 6 Monday New Year Holidays Russia
January 7 Tuesday Orthodox Christmas Day Russia
January 8 Wednesday New Year Holidays Russia
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day U.S.
February 17 Monday President's Day U.S.
February 24 Monday Defender’s Day Russia
March 9 Monday Women's Day Russia
May 1 Friday May Day Russia
May 4 Monday Bridge holiday (transferred from Saturday, January 4) Russia
May 5 Tuesday Bridge holiday (transferred from Sunday, January 5) Russia
May 11 Monday Victory Day Russia
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 12 Friday Russian Independence Day Russia
July 3 Friday Independence Day U.S.
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 4 Wednesday Day of Consent and Reconciliation Russia
November 11 Wednesday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S.