Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Abuja and the Consulate General in Lagos observe both U.S. and Nigerian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Nigerian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy/Consulate General Dates of Closure

The Embassy and the Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Friday New Year's Day US & Nigeria
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Day US
February 15 Monday Presidents’ Day US
April 2 Friday Good Friday Nigeria
April 5 Monday Easter Monday Nigeria
May 1 Saturday Workers Day** Nigeria
May 13 Thursday Eid-El-Fitr** Nigeria
May 31 Monday U.S. Memorial Day US
June 12 Saturday Democracy Day** Nigeria
July 5 Monday Independence Day US
July 20 Tuesday Eid-El-Kabir** Nigeria
September 6 Monday Labor Day US
October 1 Friday Independence Day Nigeria
October 11 Monday Columbus Day  US
October 19 Tuesday Eid-el-Maulud** US
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day Nigeria
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving US
December 24 Friday Christmas Holiday** US & Nigeria
December 27 Monday Boxing Day** Nigeria

**STC-These dates are subject to change.