Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy and other U.S. agencies in Monrovia observe both U.S. and Liberian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Liberian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
DATE DAY OF WEEK HOLIDAY COUNTRY
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day U.S., Liberia
January 20 Monday MLK Birthday U.S.
February 11 Tuesday Armed Forces Day Liberia
February 17 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 11 Wednesday Decoration Day Liberia
March 16 Monday J.J. Robert Birthday Liberia
April 10 Friday Fast and Prayer Day Liberia
May 14 Thursday Unification Day Liberia
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 3** Friday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
July 27 Monday Liberian Independence Day Liberia
August 24 Monday Flag Day Liberia
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 5 Thursday Thanksgiving Day Liberia
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
November 30 Monday W.V.S. Tubman Birthday Liberia
December 25
Friday Christmas Day U.S., Liberia

 ** Date Subject to Change