Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy and other U.S. agencies in Monrovia observe both U.S. and Liberian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Liberian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021
DATE DAY OF WEEK HOLIDAY COUNTRY
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day U.S., Liberia
January 18 Monday MLK Birthday U.S.
February 11 Thursday Armed Forces Day Liberia
February 15 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 10 Wednesday Decoration Day Liberia
March 15 Monday J.J. Robert Birthday Liberia
April 9 Friday Fast and Prayer Day Liberia
May 14 Friday Unification Day Liberia
May 31 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 5** Monday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
July 26 Monday Liberian Independence Day Liberia
August 24 Tuesday Flag Day Liberia
September 6 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 11 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 4 Thursday Thanksgiving Day Liberia
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
November 29 Monday W.V.S. Tubman Birthday Liberia
December 24** Friday Christmas Day U.S., Liberia

 ** Date Subject to Change