Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Laos holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Laos holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2021, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021

Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day U.S.
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 15 Monday Washington's Birthday U.S.
March 8 Monday International Women's Day Lao
April 14 Wednesday Pii Mai (Lao New Year) Lao
April 15 Thursday Pii Mai (Lao New Year) Lao
April 16 Friday Pii Mai (Lao New Year) Lao
May 3 Monday International Labor Day (observed) Lao
May 31 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 5 Friday Independence Day (observed) U.S.
July 20 Tuesday Lao Women Union Day Lao
September 6 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 11 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 22 Friday Boat Racing Festival Lao
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 19 Friday That Luang Festival Lao
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 2 Thursday Lao National Day Lao
December 24 Friday Christmas Day (observed) U.S.
December 31 Friday New Year's Day (observed) U.S.