Visa Types

On this page:


Immigrant visas are for people who plan to live, work or study and remain permanently in the United States. U.S. immigration law provides for the issuance of immigrant visas in four general categories: immediate relatives, family-based, employment-based, and the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program (also known as the "green card" lottery).

U.S. immigration law assumes that beneficiaries of Immigrant Visas will live permanently in the United States.

There are three steps involved in applying for an immigrant visa:

Step 1
Filing an immigrant visa petition with the Department of Homeland Security - U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

Step 2
The processing of the immigrant visa either by the National Visa Center in New Hampshire or the Immigrant Visa Unit at the U.S. Embassy in Seoul.

Step 3
The immigrant visa interview

Some useful links for Immigrant Visa types include:

Additional Resources

Petitioners and beneficiaries may find these additional websites useful during the immigrant visa process: