Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

 

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Korean holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Korean holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

 

During the year 2020, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Years Day U.S. and South Korea
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
January 24 & 27 Friday, Monday Seol-Nal (Lunar New Years Day) South Korea
February 17 Monday President's Day U.S.
April 30 Thursday Sukka Tansin Il (Buddha's Birthday) South Korea
May 5 Tuesday Children's Day South Korea
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 6 Saturday Hyun Choong Il (Memorial Day) South Korea
July 3 Friday Independence Day U.S.
August 15 Saturday Kwang Bok Jul (Independence Day) South Korea
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 30, October 1 & 2 Wednesday, Thursday, Friday Chusok (Korean Thanksgiving) South Korea
October 9 Friday Han Geul Nal (Korean Alphabet Day) South Korea
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S. and South Korea

 

During the year 2021, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2021
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Friday New Years Day U.S. and South Korea
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
February 11, 12 & 13 Thursday, Friday, Saturday Seol-Nal (Lunar New Years Day) South Korea
February 15 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 1 Monday Sam Il Jul (Independence Movement Day)  South Korea
May 5 Wednesday Children's Day South Korea
May 19 Wednesday Sukka Tansin Il (Buddha’s Birthday) South Korea
May 31 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 5 Monday Independence Day U.S.
September 6 Monday Labor Day U.S
September 20, 21 & 22 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Chusok (Korean Thanksgiving) South Korea
October 9 Saturday Han Geul Nal (Korean Alphabet Day) South Korea
October 11 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day U.S.
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Friday Christmas Day U.S. and South Korea