Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Japanese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Japanese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy and Consulate Dates of Closure

 

During the year 2022, the Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2022
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Saturday (Observed on Friday, December 31, 2021) New Year’s Day U.S. and Japan
January 10 Monday Adult's Day Japan
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
February 11 Friday National Foundation Day Japan
February 21 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 21 Monday Vernal Equinox Day Japan
April 29, May 3-5 Friday, Tuesday - Thursday Golden Week Holidays Japan
May 30 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 19, 20 Sunday (Observed on Monday) Juneteenth Independence Day U.S.
July 4 Monday Independence Day U.S.
July 18 Monday Marine Day Japan
September 5 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 19 Monday Respect for the Aged Day Japan
October 10 Monday Columbus Day / Sports Day U.S. and Japan
November 11 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Wednesday Labor Thanksgiving Day Japan
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25, 26 Sunday (Observed on Monday) Christmas Day U.S.