Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Jakarta and the Consulate General in Surabaya observe both U.S. and Indonesian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Indonesian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy/Consulate General Dates of Closure

2022
Date Day Holiday Country
January 17 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S. 
February 1  Tuesday Chinese New Year 2573 Kongzili Indonesian 
February 21 Monday  Washington’s Birthday U.S.
February 28 Monday Isra Mi’raj Prophet of Muhammad Indonesian
March 3 Thursday

Balinese Hindu’s New Year/Silent Day 1944 Saka

Indonesian
April 15 Friday Good Friday Indonesian
May 2-3 Monday-Tuesday Idul Fitri 1443 Hijriyah Indonesian
May 16 Monday Waisak Day Indonesian
May 26 Thursday Ascension of Christ Indonesian 
May 30 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
 June 1  Wednesday Pancasila Day Indonesian
 June 20 Monday Juneteenth U.S.
July 4  Monday Independence Day U.S. 
August 17 Wednesday Independence Day Indonesian
September 5  Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 10 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 26 Monday Christmas Day U.S.