Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Jakarta and the Consulate General in Surabaya observe both U.S. and Indonesian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Indonesian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy/Consulate General Dates of Closure

2019
Date Day Holiday Country
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S. & Indonesian
2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day U.S. & Indonesian
January 20 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.
February 17 Monday Washington's Birthday U.S.
March 25 Wednesday Balinese Hindu’s New Year/ Silent Day Indonesian
April 10 Friday Good Friday Indonesian
May 1 Friday International Labor Day Indonesian
 May 7 Thursday Waisak Day Indonesian
May 21 Thursday Ascension of Christ Indonesian
May 25 Monday Memorial Day and Idul Fitri 1441 Hijriyah – 2nd day U.S. & Indonesian
June 1 Monday Pancasila Day Indonesian
July 3 Friday Independence Day U.S.
 July 31 Friday Idul Adha 1441 Hijriyah Indonesian
 August 17 Monday Independence Day Indonesian
August 20 Thursday Islamic New Year 1442 Hijriyah Indonesian
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 29 Thursday Muhammad’s Birthday Indonesian
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S. & Indonesian