Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Hungarian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Hungarian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2022, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - End of year 2021
Date Day Holiday Country
December 24 Friday Christmas Day (Observed) American
December 25 Saturday Christmas Day American/Hungarian
December 26 Sunday 2nd Day of Christmas Hungarian
December 27 Monday 2nd Day of Christmas (Observed) Hungarian
December 31 Friday New Year's Day (Observed) American
Dates of Closure - All Dates 2022
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Saturday New Year’s Day American/Hungarian
January 17 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. American
February 21 Monday Washington’s Birthday American
March 15 Tuesday Revolution Day Hungarian
April 15 Friday Good Friday Hungarian
April 17 Sunday Easter Sunday Hungarian
April 18 Monday Easter Monday Hungarian
May 2 Monday Labor Day (May 1 - Observed) Hungarian
May 30 Monday Memorial Day American
June 5 Sunday Whit Sunday Hungarian
June 6 Monday Whit Monday Hungarian
June 19 Sunday Juneteenth American
June 20 Monday Juneteenth (observed) American
July 4 Monday Independence Day American
August 19 Friday National Day (observed) Hungarian
August 20 Saturday National Day Hungarian
September 5 Monday Labor Day American
October 10 Monday Columbus Day American
October 24 Monday Republic Day (October 23 - Observed) Hungarian
November 1 Tuesday All Saints Day Hungarian
November 11 Friday Veterans Day American
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day American
December 25 Sunday Christmas Day American/Hungarian
December 26 Monday 2nd Day of Christmas, Christmas Day (observed) Hungarian/American
December 27 Tuesday 2nd Day of Christmas (Observed) Hungarian