Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Honduras holidays and will be closed on those dates. The US Visa Service Desk is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2023, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2023
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Honduras
January 16 Monday  Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday Presidents Day U.S.
April 6 Thursday Holy Thursday Honduras
April 7 Friday Good Friday Honduras
April 8 Saturday Easter Saturday Honduras
April 14 Friday Day of the Americas Honduras
May 1 Monday Labor Day Honduras
May  29 Monday  Memorial Day U.S.  
June 19 Monday  Juneteenth National Independence Day U.S.  
July 04 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.  
September 4 Monday  Labor Day U.S.  
September 15 Friday Central American Independence Day Honduras
October 4 Wednesday Francisco Morazán’s Birthday Honduras
October 5 Thursday Discovery of America Honduras
October 6 Friday  Honduran Armed Forces Day Honduras
October 9 Monday  Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday  Veteran’s Day  U.S.
November 23 Thursday  Thanksgiving Day U.S.    
December 25 Monday  Christmas Day U.S./Honduras