Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The Consulate General observes both U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Arrangements in case of Typhoon 8 and Black Rain signal notification by Hong Kong Government

There will be no appointments the day(s) for which the Hong Kong Government issues a Typhoon No.8 or Black Rain Signal.

Individuals with nonimmigrant visa appointments that were cancelled due to the typhoon or black Rainstorm Warning will receive an email inviting them to login in to their account to reschedule their appointment online.  All immigrant visa applicants can reschedule themselves using the Global Support System (GSS) website, and use their Case ID to choose a new appointment time.

Consulate General Dates of Closure

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2022.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2022
Date Day Holiday Country

January 17, 2022

Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday A
February 1, 2022 Tuesday Lunar New Year's Day L

February 2, 2022

Wednesday

Second day of Lunar New Year 

L

February 3, 2022 Thursday

Third day of Lunar New Year 

L
February 21, 2022 Monday

President’s Day  

 A
April 5, 2022 Tuesday

Ching Ming Festival   

L
April 15, 2022 Friday

Good Friday

L
April 18, 2022 Monday

Easter Monday

L
May 30, 2022 Monday Memorial Day

A

June 3, 2022 Friday Tuen Ng Festival  L
June 20, 2022 Monday

Juneteenth (observed Sunday, June 19)

A
July 1, 2022 Friday

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

L

July 4, 2022

Monday Independence Day A
September 5, 2022 Monday Labor Day A
September 12, 2022 Monday

 The second day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival

L
October 4, 2022 Tuesday

 Chung Yeung Festival   

L
October 10, 2022 Monday Columbus Day A
November 11, 2022 Friday

Veterans Day

A
November 24, 2022 Thursday Thanksgiving Day A
December 26, 2022 Monday Christmas Day (Observed Sunday, December 25) A/L
December 27, 2022 Tuesday The Second Weekday after Christmas Day L

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Notes:  Two local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2022 holiday schedule: The day following Good Friday, April 16, National Day, October 1. 

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2023.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2023
Date Day Holiday Country

January 2, 2023

Monday

The day following the first day of January (observed Sunday, January 1)

A/L
January 16, 2023 Monday

Martin Luther King’s Birthday

A

January 23, 2023

Monday

Second day of Lunar New Year 

L

January 24, 2023 Tuesday

Third day of Lunar New Year 

L
January 25, 2023 Wednesday

Fourth day of Lunar New Year

 L
February 20, 2023 Monday

President’s Day

A
April 5, 2023 Wednesday

Ching Ming Festival

L
April 7, 2023 Friday

Good Friday

L
April 10, 2023 Monday Easter Holiday

L

May 26, 2023 Friday

The Birthday of Buddha

L
May 29, 2023 Monday

Memorial Day

A
June 19, 2023 Monday

Juneteenth 

A

June 22, 2023

Thursday Tuen Ng Festival L
July 4, 2023 Tuesday Independence Day A
September 4, 2023 Monday

Labor Day

A
October 2, 2023 Monday

The day following National Day

L
October 9, 2023 Monday Columbus Day A
October 23, 2023 Monday

Chung Yeung Festival

L
November 10, 2023 Friday Veterans Day (Observed Saturday, November 11) A
November 23, 2023 Thursday

Thanksgiving Day

A
December 25, 2023 Monday Christmas Day  A/L
December 26, 2023 Tuesday The first Weekday after Christmas Day L

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Notes: Three local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2023 holiday schedule: The day following Good Friday, April 8, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day, July 1, and the day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival, September 30.