Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The Consulate General observes both U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Arrangements in case of Typhoon 8 and Black Rain signal notification by Hong Kong Government

There will be no appointments the day(s) for which the Hong Kong Government issues a Typhoon No.8 or Black Rain Signal.

Individuals with Nonimmigrant Visa appointments will be notified by email and invited to login to their accounts in order to cancel and reschedule the appointment online.

Individuals with Immigrant Visa appointments should use the Visa Inquiry Form to provide current telephone contact numbers to the Immigrant Visa Unit as soon as possible after the Consulate opens again. Consulate staff will contact them directly to reschedule their appointments.

Consulate General Dates of Closure

 The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2020.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country

January 1, 2020

Wednesday New Year's Day A/L
January 20, 2020 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday A

January 27, 2020

Monday

Third day of the Lunar New Year

L

January 28, 2020 Tuesday

Fourth day of the Lunar New Year

L
February 17, 2020 Monday President's Day A
April 10, 2020 Friday Good Friday L
April 13, 2020 Monday Easter Monday L
April 30, 2020 Thursday

Birthday of the Buddha

L
May 1, 2020 Friday Labor Day

L

May 25, 2020 Monday Memorial Day A
June 25, 2020 Thursday Tuen Ng Festival  L
July 1, 2020 Wednesday

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

L
July 3, 2020 Friday Independence Day A
September 7, 2020 Monday Labor Day A
October 1, 2020 Thursday National Day L
October 2, 2020 Friday

The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival

L
October 12, 2020 Monday Columbus Day A
October 26, 2020 Monday

The day following Chung Yeung Festival

L
November 11, 2019 Wednesday

Veterans Day

A
November 26, 2019 Thursday Thanksgiving Day A
December 25, 2019 Friday Christmas Day A/L

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Note: Four local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2020 holiday schedule (Lunar New Year’s Day, January 24, Ching Ming Festival, April 4, The day following Good Friday, April 11, and the day following Christmas Day, December 26).