Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Guatemalan holidays and will be closed on those dates. The US Visa Service Desk is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2020, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day U.S./Guatemala
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 17 Monday President’s Day U.S.
April 9 Thursday Holy Thursday Guatemala
April 10 Friday Good Friday Guatemala
May 4 Monday Labor Day Guatemala
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 29 Monday Army Day  Guatemala
July 3 Friday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 15 Saturday Feast of the Assumption Guatemala
September 7 Monday U.S. Labor Day U.S.
September 15 Tuesday Guatemalan Independence Day Guatemala
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 19 Monday Revolution Day Guatemala
November 1 Sunday All Saints Day Guatemala
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve – Half Day Guatemala
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S./Guatemala
December 31 Thursday New Year’s Eve – Half Day Guatemala