Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both Fiji and U.S. holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes Fiji and U.S. holidays and will be closed on those dates as well.

Embassy Dates of Closure

 During the year 2021, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Holiday Date
New Year’s Day (U.S. & Fiji) Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King's Birthday  (U.S.) Monday, January 18
Washington's Day (U.S.) Monday, February 15
Good Friday (Fiji) Friday, April 2
Easter Saturday (Fiji) Saturday, April 3
Easter Monday (Fiji) Monday, April 5
Memorial Day (U.S.) Monday, May 31
Independence Day (U.S.) Observed on Monday, July 5
Labor Day (U.S.) Monday, September 6
Constitution Day (Fiji) Tuesday, September 7
Fiji Day (Fiji) Sunday, October 10 *
Columbus Day (U.S.) Monday, October 11
Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday (Fiji) Monday, October 18
Diwali (Fiji) Thursday, November 4
Veterans Day (U.S.) Thursday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day (U.S.) Thursday, November 25
Christmas Day (U.S.) Friday, December 24
Christmas Day (Fiji) Observed on Monday, December 27
Boxing Day (Fiji) Observed on Tuesday, December 28
New Year's Day 2022 (U.S.) Observed on Friday, December 31

*If a Fijian holiday falls on a Sunday, the preceding Friday or subsequent Monday is not considered a holiday unless officially declared by Fiji Cabinet.

During the year 2022, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day (Fiji) Observed on Monday, January 3
Martin Luther King's Birthday  (U.S.) Monday, January 17
President's Day (U.S.) Monday, February 21
Good Friday (Fiji) Friday, April 15
Easter Saturday (Fiji) Saturday, April 16
Easter Monday (Fiji) Monday, April 18
Memorial Day (U.S.) Monday, May 30
Juneteenth (U.S.) Monday, June 20
Independence Day (U.S.) Monday, July 4
Labor Day (U.S.) Monday, September 5
Constitution Day (Fiji) Wednesday, September 7
Prophet Mohammed's Birthday (Fiji) Friday, October 7
Columbus Day (U.S.) Monday, October 10
Fiji Day (Fiji) Monday, October 10
Diwali (Fiji) Tuesday, October 25
Veterans Day (U.S.) Friday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day (U.S.) Thursday, November 24
Christmas Day (U.S. & Fiji) Observed on Monday, December 26
Boxing Day (Fiji) Observed on Tuesday, December 27

*If a Fijian holiday falls on a Sunday, the preceding Friday or subsequent Monday is not considered a holiday unless officially declared by Fiji Cabinet.