Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Finnish holidays and will be closed on those dates. 

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2020, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.                                                        

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year's Day U.S./Finnish
January 6 Monday Epiphany Finnish
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 17 Monday Presidents’ Day U.S.
April 10 Friday Good Friday Finnish
April 13 Monday Easter Monday Finnish
May 1 Friday May Day Finnish
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day Finnish
June 19 Friday Midsummer's Eve Finnish
June 20 Saturday Midsummer's Day Finnish
July 4** Saturday Independence Day U.S.
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October** Saturday All Saint's Day Finnish
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 6* Sunday Independence Day Finnish
December 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Finnish
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S./Finnish
December 26 Satruday 2nd Christmas Day Finnish
 

 *Holidays that fall on a Sunday are observed on the following Monday.
**Holidays that fall on a Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday.