Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Finnish holidays and will be closed on those dates. 

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2022, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.                                                        

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2022
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1** Saturday New Year's Day U.S./Finnish
January 6 Thursday Epiphany Finnish
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 21 Monday Presidents’ Day U.S.
April 15 Friday Good Friday Finnish
April 18 Monday Easter Monday Finnish
May 1* Sunday May Day Finnish
May 26 Thursday Ascension Day Finnish
May 30 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 19* Sunday Juneteenth U.S.
June 24 Friday Midsummer's Eve Finnish
June 25 Saturday Midsummer’s Day Finnish
July 4 Monday Independence Day U.S.
September 5 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 10 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 5** Saturday All Saint's Day Finnish
November 11 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 6 Tuesday Independence Day Finnish
December 24** Saturday Christmas Eve Finnish
December 25 Sunday Christmas Day Finnish/US
December 26 Monday Second Christmas Day Finnish
January 1, 2023* Sunday New Year's Day U.S./Finnish

*Holidays that fall on a Sunday are observed on the Monday after

**Holidays that fall on a Saturday are observed on the Friday before.