Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and German holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and German national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2020, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
December 25, 2019 Wednesday Christmas Ger/U.S.
December 26, 2019 Thursday Second Christmas Day Ger
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day Ger/U.S.
January 6 *M Monday Epiphany Ger
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 17 Monday President's Day U.S.
April 10 Friday Good Friday Ger
April 13 Monday Easter Monday Ger
May 1 Friday Labor Day Ger
May 8 *B Friday Liberation Day Ger
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day Ger
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 1 Monday Whit Monday Ger
June 11 *F, M Thursday Corpus Christi Day Ger
July 3 Friday Independence Day U.S.
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving U.S.
December 25 Friday Christmas Ger/U.S.
 Holidays identified with an asterisk (*) are celebrated only at certain posts: F=Frankfurt, M=Munich, B=Berlin