Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and Consulates General observe both U.S. and Chinese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Chinese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy or Consulate General Dates of Closure

During the year 2020, the Embassy or Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2020
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day U.S / China
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S
January 24-29 Fri-Wed Chinese (Lunar) New Year China
February 17 Monday President's Day U.S
April 6 Monday Tomb Sweeping Day China
May 1 Friday International Labor Day China
May 25 Monday Memorial Day U.S
June 25 Thursday Dragon Boat Festival China
July 3 Friday Independence Day U.S
September 7 Monday Labor Day U.S
October 1-6 Thurs-Tues Mid-Autumn Festival and Chinese National Day China
October 12 Monday Columbus Day U.S
November 11 Wednesday Veterans Day U.S
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S
December 25 Friday Christmas Day U.S