Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and other U.S. agencies in Ouagadougou observe both U.S. and Burkinabe holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Burkinabe holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

In 2019, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the below dates.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
DATE DAY OF WEEK HOLIDAY COUNTRY
January 1 Tuesday New Year’s Day U.S., Burkina Faso
January 3 Thursday Burinka Faso National Day Burkina Faso
January 21 Monday MLK Birthday U.S.
February 18 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 8 Friday International Women's Day Burkina Faso
April 22 Monday Easter Monday Burkina Faso
May 1 Wednesday International Labor Day Burkina Faso
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day Burkina Faso
June 5** Wednesday Eid-El-Fitr (Ramadan) Burkina Faso
July 4 Thursday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 5 Monday Independence Day Burkina Faso
August 12 Monday Assumption Day Burkina Faso
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 14 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 1 Friday All Saints' Day Burkina Faso
November 11 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 11** Monday Mouloud Burkina Faso
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 11 Wednesday Commemoration of Independece Burkina Faso
December 25
Wednesday Christmas Day U.S., Burkina Faso