Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Austrian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and Austrian national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

The Embassy’s holiday schedule is available at the Embassy’s homepage.

Dates of Closure
Date Day Holiday Country
December 25, 2019 Wednesday Christmas Day Austria / U.S.
December 26, 2019 Thursday St. Stephen's Day Austria
January 1, 2020 Wednesday New Year's Day Austria / U.S.
January 20, 2020 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 17, 2020 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
April 13, 2020 Monday Easter Monday Austria
May 1, 2020 Friday Labor Day Austria
May 21, 2020 Thursday Ascension Day Austria
May 25, 2020 Thursday Memorial Day U.S.
June 1, 2020 Monday Whit Monday Austria
June 11, 2020 Thursday Corpus Christi Austria
July 3, 2020 Friday Independence Day (observed) U.S.
September 7, 2020 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 12, 2020 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 26, 2020 Monday Austrian National Day Austria
November 11, 2020 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 26, 2020 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 8, 2020 Tuesday Immaculate Conception Austria
December 25, 2020 Friday Christmas Day Austria / U.S.