Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and El Salvador holidays and will be closed on those dates. The US Visa Service Desk is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./El Salvador
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday President’s Day U.S.
April 13 Thursday Holy Thursday El Salvador
April 14 Friday Good Friday El Salvador
April 15 Saturday Easter Saturday El Salvador
April 16 Sunday Easter Sunday El Salvador
May 1 Sunday Labor Day El Salvador
May 10 Wednesday Mother's Day El Salvador
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 17 Saturday Father's Day El Salvador
July 4 Tuesday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 3 through August 6 Thursday through Sunday Feast of San Salvador El Salvador
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 15 Friday Independence Day El Salvador
October 9 Monday Columbus Day  U.S.
November 2 Thursday All Souls' Day El Salvador
November 10 Friday Veteran’s Day  U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day (Observance) U.S./El Salvador