Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and El Salvador holidays and will be closed on those dates. The US Visa Service Desk is closed Sundays, December 25, and January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2019, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Tuesday New Year’s Day U.S./El Salvador
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 18 Monday President’s Day U.S.
April 18 Thursday Holy Thursday El Salvador
April 19 Friday Good Friday El Salvador
April 20 Saturday Easter Saturday El Salvador
April 21 Sunday Easter Sunday El Salvador
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day El Salvador
May 10 Friday Mother's Day El Salvador
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 17 Monday Father's Day El Salvador
July 4 Thursday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 3 through August 6 Saturday through Tuesday Feast of San Salvador El Salvador
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 15 Sunday Independence Day El Salvador
October 14 Monday Columbus Day  U.S.
November 2 Saturday All Souls' Day El Salvador
November 11 Monday Veteran’s Day  U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day (Observance) U.S./El Salvador