Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Freetown observes both U.S. and Sierra Leonen holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Sierra Leonen holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day U.S., Sierra Leone
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday U.S.
February 18 Monday President's Day/Armed Forces Day U.S., Sierra Leone
March 8 Friday International Women's Day Sierra Leone
April 19 Friday Good Friday Sierra Leone
April 22 Monday Easter Monday Sierra Leone
April 27 Saturday Independence Day Sierra Leone
May 1 Wednesday International Workers Day Sierra Leone
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 5 Wednesday (TBA) Eid-Al-Fitr Sierra Leone
July 4 Thursday Independence Day U.S.
August 12 Monday (TBA) Eid al-Adha/Tabaski Sierra Leone
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 14 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Monday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 11 Monday (TBA) Mawlid-Al-Nabi Sierra Leone
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S., Sierra Leone
December 26 Thursday Boxing Day Sierra Leone

TBA - Muslim holidays to be announced (TBA) depending on the appearance of the moon.