Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Freetown observes both U.S. and Sierra Leonen holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Sierra Leonen holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday New Year's Day U.S., Sierra Leone
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday President's Day U.S.
April 14 Friday Good Friday Sierra Leone
April 17 Monday Easter Monday Sierra Leone
April 27 Thursday Independence Day Sierra Leone
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 26 Monday (TBA) Eid-Ul-Fitr Sierra Leone
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
September 2 Saturday (TBA) Eid-Al-Adha/Tabaski Sierra Leone
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 1 Friday (TBA) Mawlid-Al-Nabi Sierra Leone
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S., Sierra Leone
December 26 Tuesday Boxing Day Sierra Leone

TBA - Muslim holidays to be announced (TBA) depending on the appearance of the moon.