Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Norwegian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and Norwegian national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

During 2017, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Sunday New Years Day U.S./Norwegian
January 2 Monday New Year's Day U.S.
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day U.S.
February 20 Monday President’s Day U.S.
April 13 Thursday Holy Thursday Norwegian
April 14 Friday Good Friday Norwegian
April 16 Sunday Easter Sunday Norwegian
April 17 Monday Easter Monday Norwegian
May 1 Monday Norwegian Labor Day Norwegian
May 17 Wednesday Norwegian Constitution Day Norwegian
May 25 Thursday Ascension Day Norwegian
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 4 Sunday Whit Sunday Norwegian
June 5 Monday Whit Monday Norwegian
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
September 4 Monday American Labor Day U.S.
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Sunday Christmas Eve Norwegian
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S./Norwegian
December 26 Tuesday 2nd Christmas Day Norwegian