Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Norwegian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed on weekends and Norwegian national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

During 2018, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Years Day U.S./Norwegian
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day U.S.
February 19 Monday President’s Day U.S.
March 29 Thursday Holy Thursday Norwegian
March 30 Friday Good Friday Norwegian
April 1 Sunday Easter Sunday Norwegian
April 2 Monday Easter Monday Norwegian
May 1 Tuesday Norwegian Labor Day Norwegian
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day Norwegian
May 17 Thursday Norwegian Constitution Day Norwegian
May 20 Sunday Whit Sunday Norwegian
May 21 Monday Whit Monday Norwegian
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
September 3 Monday American Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S./Norwegian
December 26 Wednesday 2nd Christmas Day Norwegian