Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Mongolian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Mongolian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday Substitute Day of New Year Day, Sunday, January 1 U.S./Mongolia
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
February 27 Monday Lunar New Year* Mongolia
February 28 Tuesday Lunar New Year* Mongolia
March 1 Wednesday Lunar New Year* Mongolia
March 8 Wednesday International Women’s day Mongolia
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 1 Thursday Mother and Child Day Mongolia
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
July 11 Tuesday National Holiday/Naadam Mongolia
July 12 Wednesday National Holiday/Naadam Mongolia
July 13 Thursday National Holiday/Naadam Mongolia
July 14 Friday National Holiday/Naadam Mongolia
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S.
December 29 Friday National Independence Day Mongolia

* Lunar New Year date may change according to the local Astrologers’ decision.