Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Mongolian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Mongolian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S.
December 29 Friday National Independence Day Mongolia
Dates of Closure – All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Mongolia
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
February 16 Friday Lunar New Year* Mongolia
February 19 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 8 Thursday International Women’s day Mongolia
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 1 Friday Mother and Child Day Mongolia
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
July 11 Wednesday National Holiday/Naadam Mongolia
July 12 Thursday National Holiday/Naadam Mongolia
July 13 Friday National Holiday/Naadam Mongolia
July 16 Monday Substitute day of National Holiday/Naadam, Sunday, July 15 Mongolia
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 1 Thursday Chinggis Khaan’s Birthday* Mongolia
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
November 26 Monday National Freedom and Independence Day Mongolia
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S.
December 28 Friday Substitute Day of National Independence Day, Sunday, Dec 29 Mongolia

* Lunar New Year and Chinggis Khaan’s Birthday dates may change according to the local Astrologers’ decision.