Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy Riga observes both U.S. and Latvian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Latvian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy Riga Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the U.S. Embassy Riga will be closed on the dates shown below.                                                          

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day United States/Latvia
January 15 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King Jr. United States
February 19 Monday Washington’s Birthday United States
March 30 Friday Good Friday Latvia
April 2 Monday Easter Monday Latvia
30 april Monday Bridge Holiday for May Day Latvia
May 1 Tuesday Convocation of the Constituent Assembly Latvia
May 4 Thursday Proclamation of Independence Latvia
May 28 Monday Memorial Day United States
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day United States
July 9 Monday The Last Day of XXVI Latvian Song and Dance Festival Latvia
September 3 Monday Labor Day United States
October 8 Monday Columbus Day United States
November 12 Monday Veterans Day United States
November 19 Monday Latvian National Day Latvia
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day United States
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Latvia
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day United States / Latvia
December 26 Wednesday Christmas Day Latvia 
December 31 Monday New Years Eve Latvia