Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy and other U.S. agencies in Monrovia observe both U.S. and Liberian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Liberian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
DATE DAY OF WEEK HOLIDAY COUNTRY
January 2 Monday New Year’s Day U.S., Liberia
January 16 Monday MLK Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 8 Wednesday Decoration Day Liberia
March 15 Wednesday J.J. Robert Birthday Liberia
April 14 Friday Fast and Prayer Day Liberia
May 15 Monday Unification Day Liberia
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Tuesday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
July 26 Wednesday Liberian Independence Day Liberia
August 24 Thursday Flag Day Liberia
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 2 Thursday Thanksgiving Day Liberia
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
November 29 Wednesday W.V.S. Tubman Birthday Liberia
December 25*
Monday Christmas Day U.S., Liberia