Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy/Consulate observes both U.S. and Kazakh holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Kazakh holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy/Consulate Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Kazakhstan
January 3 Tuesday New Year’s Day (in lieu of January 1) Kazakhstan
January 16 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.
February 20 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 8 Wednesday Women’s Day Kazakhstan
March 21 Tuesday Nauryz Kazakhstan
March 22 Wednesday Nauryz Kazakhstan
March 23 Thursday Nauryz Kazakhstan
May 1 Monday Unity Day Kazakhstan
May 8 Monday Defender’s Day (in lieu of May 7) Kazakhstan
May 9 Tuesday Victory Day Kazakhstan
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
July 6 Thursday Capital Day Kazakhstan
August 30 Wednesday Constitution Day Kazakhstan
September (date TBD) Kurban-Ait (Eid al-Adha) Kazakhstan
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 1 Friday First President’s Day Kazakhstan
December 18 Monday Independence Day (in lieu of December 16) Kazakhstan
December 19 Tuesday Independence Day (in lieu of December 17) Kazakhstan
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S.