Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy/Consulate observes both U.S. and Kazakh holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Kazakh holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy/Consulate Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Kazakhstan
January 2 Tuesday New Year’s Day Kazakhstan
January 15 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.
February 19 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 8 Thursday Women’s Day Kazakhstan
March 9 Friday Bridge holiday (transferred from Saturday, March 3) Kazakhstan
March 21 Wednesday Nauryz Kazakhstan
March 22 Thursday Nauryz Kazakhstan
March 23 Friday Nauryz Kazakhstan
April 30 Monday Bridge Holiday Kazakhstan
May 1 Tuesday Unity Day Kazakhstan
May 7 Monday Defender’s Day Kazakhstan
May 8 Tuesday Bridge Holiday Kazakhstan
May 9 Wednesday Victory Day Kazakhstan
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
July 6 Friday Capital Day Kazakhstan
August 21 Tuesday Kurban-Ait (Eid al-Adha) Kazakhstan
August 30 Thursday Constitution Day Kazakhstan
August 31 Friday Bridge holiday (transferred from Saturday, August 25) Kazakhstan
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 3 Monday First President’s Day (in lieu of December 1) Kazakhstan
December 17 Monday Independence Day Kazakhstan
December 18 Tuesday Independence Day (in lieu of December 16) Kazakhstan
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S.