Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Kuwaiti holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Kuwaiti holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2016, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2016
Date Day Holiday Country
3-Jan Sunday New Year’s Day United States
17-Jan Sunday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday United States
14-Feb Sunday President’s Day United States
25-Feb Thursday Kuwait National Day Kuwait
28-Feb Sunday Kuwait Liberation Day Kuwait
5-May Thursday Ascension Day Kuwait
29-May Sunday Memorial Day United States
4-July Monday Independence Day United States
6 to 7-July Wednesday to Thursday  Eid Al-Fitr** Kuwait
4- Sep Sunday Labor Day United States
11 to 13-Sep Sunday To Tuesday * Eid Al-Adha Kuwait
2-Oct Sunday Islamic new year Kuwait
9-Oct Sunday Columbus Day United States
13-Nov Sunday Veteran’s Day United States
24-Nov Thursday Thanksgiving Day United States
11-Dec Sunday Birthday of Prophet Mohamed Kuwait
25-Dec Sunday Christmas United States