Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Korean holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Korean holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday New Years Day U.S.
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
January 27, 30 Friday, Monday Seol-Nal (Lunar New Years Day) South Korea
February 20 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 1 Wednesday Sam Il Jul (Independence Movement Day) South Korea
May 3 Wednesday Sukka Tansin Il (Buddha's Birthday) South Korea
May 5 Friday Children's Day South Korea
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 6 Tuesday Hyun Choong Il (Memorial Day) South Korea
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
August 15 Tuesday Kwang Bok Jul (Independence Day) South Korea
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 3 Tuesday Kae Chun Jul (Nat’l Foundation Day) South Korea
October 4, 5, 6 Wednesday, Thursday, Friday  Chusok (Korean Thanksgiving) South Korea
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S. and South Korea