Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Japanese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Japanese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy and Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2, 3 Monday, Tuesday New Year’s Holidays U.S. and Japan
January 9 Monday Adult's Day Japan
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr's Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 20 Monday Vernal Equinox Day Japan
May 3, 4, 5 Wednesday, Thursday, Friday Golden Week Holidays Japan
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
July 17 Monday Marine Day Japan
August 11 Friday Mountain Day Japan
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 18 Monday Respect for the Aged Day Japan
October 9 Monday Columbus Day/Sports Day U.S. and Japan
November 3 Friday Culture Day Japan
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S.