Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The Consulate General observes both U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Arrangements in case of Typhoon 8 and Black Rain signal notification by Hong Kong Government

There will be no appointments the day(s) for which the Hong Kong Government issues a Typhoon No.8 or Black Rain Signal.

You will be notified by email and invited to login to your account in order to cancel and reschedule your appointment online.

Consulate General Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country

January 2

Monday The day following New Year’s Day (observed Sunday, January 1) US / HK
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday US

January 30
January 31

Monday
Tuesday
Third day of the Lunar New Year
Fourth day of the Lunar New Year

HK

February 20 Monday President day US
April 4 Tuesday Ching Ming Festival HK
April 14 Friday Good Friday HK
April 17 Monday Easter Monday HK
May 01 Monday Labor Day US
May 03 Wednesday The Buddha’s Birthday

HK

May 29 Monday Memorial Day  US
May 30 Tuesday Tuen Ng Festival    HK
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day US
September 4 Monday Labor Day US
October 2 Monday The day following National Day (observed Sunday, October 1) HK
October 5   Thursday The day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival HK
October 9   Monday Columbus Day US
November 10 Friday Veterans Day (observed Saturday, November 11) US
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day US
December 25 Monday Christmas Day US/HK
December 26 Tuesday First Week-Day after Christmas Day   HK

Note:  Four local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2017 holiday schedule (Lunar New Year’s Day, January 28, The day following Good Friday, April 15, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day, July 1 and Chung Yeung Festival, October 28).