Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The Consulate General observes both U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Arrangements in case of Typhoon 8 and Black Rain signal notification by Hong Kong Government

There will be no appointments the day(s) for which the Hong Kong Government issues a Typhoon No.8 or Black Rain Signal.

You will be notified by email and invited to login to your account in order to cancel and reschedule your appointment online.

Consulate General Dates of Closure

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2018.  Please noted that A - American Holiday /L - Local Holiday

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country

January 1

Monday New Year's Day A/L
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday A

February 16

Friday First day of the Lunar New Year

L

February 19 Monday President's Day/Fourth day of the Lunar New Year A/L
March 30 Friday Good Friday L
April 2 Monday Easter Monday L
April 5 Thursday Ching Ming Festival L
May 1 Tuesday Labour Day L
May 28 Monday Memorial Day

A

June 18 Monday Tuen Ng Festival L
July 2 Monday The day following Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (observed Sunday, July 1) Establishment Day L
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day L
September 3 Monday Labor Day A
September 25 Tuesday The day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival L
October 1 Monday National Day L
October 8  Monday Columbus Day A
October 17 Wednesday Chung Yeung Festival  L
November 12 Monday Veterans Day (observed Sunday, November 11) A
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day A
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day A/L
December 26 Wednesday First Week-Day after Christmas Day L

Notes:  Two local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2018 holiday schedule (The second day of Lunar New Year, February 17 and The day following Good Friday, March 31).  One local holiday was eliminated (The Buddha’s Birthday, May 22).