Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The Consulate General observes both U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Hong Kong holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Arrangements in case of Typhoon 8 and Black Rain signal notification by Hong Kong Government

There will be no appointments the day(s) for which the Hong Kong Government issues a Typhoon No.8 or Black Rain Signal.

You will be notified by email and invited to login to your account in order to cancel and reschedule your appointment online.

Consulate General Dates of Closure

 The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2019.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country

January 1, 2019

Tuesday New Year's Day A/L
January 21, 2019 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday A

February 5, 2019

Tuesday First day of the Lunar New Year

L

February 6, 2019 Wednesday Second day of the Lunar New Year L
February 7, 2019 Thursday Third day of the Lunar New Year L
February 18, 2019 Monday President's Day A
April 5, 2019 Friday Ching Ming Festival L
April 19, 2019 Friday Good Friday L
April 22, 2019 Monday Easter Monday

L

May 27, 2019 Monday Memorial Day A
June 7, 2019 Friday Tuen Ng Festival  L
July 1, 2019 Monday

Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

L
July 4, 2019 Thursday Independence Day A
September 2, 2019 Monday Labor Day A
October 1, 2019 Tuesday National Day L
October 7, 2019 Monday Chung Yeung Festival  L
October 14, 2019 Monday Columbus Day A
November 11, 2019 Monday Veterans Day  A
November 28, 2019 Thursday Thanksgiving Day A
December 25, 2019 Wednesday Christmas Day A/L
December 26, 2019 Thursday First Week-Day after Christmas Day L

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Notes: Two local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2019 holiday schedule (The day following Good Friday, April 20, 2019, and the day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival, September 14, 2019). Two local holidays are also not included (Labor Day, May 1, and the day following the Birthday of Buddha, May 13).