Holidays and Closures

Overview

The U.S. Embassy in Accra observes both U.S. and Ghanaian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Ghanaian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Ghana
January 16 Monday M. L. King's Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday Presidents' Day U.S.
March 6 Monday Independence Day Ghana
April 14 Friday Good Friday Ghana
April 17 Monday Easter Monday Ghana
May 1 Monday May Day Ghana
May 25 Thursday African Union Day Ghana
May 29 Monday Memorial Day US
June 26 Monday Eid-Il-Fitr** Ghana
July 3 Monday Republic Day Ghana
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 4 Monday Eid-Il-Adha** U.S.
September 21 Thursday Founder’s Day Ghana
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 1 Friday Farmers' Day U.S./Ghana
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S./Ghana
December 26 Tuesday Boxing Day Ghana