Holidays and Closures


The U.S. Embassy in Accra observes both U.S. and Ghanaian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Ghanaian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Ghana
January 15 Monday M. L. King's Birthday U.S.
February 19 Monday Presidents' Day U.S.
March 6 Tuesday Independence Day Ghana
March 30 Friday Good Friday Ghana
April 2 Monday Easter Monday Ghana
May 1 Tuesday May Day Ghana
May 25 Friday African Union Day Ghana
May 28 Monday Memorial Day US
June 15 Friday Eid-Il-Fitr** Ghana
July 2 Monday Republic Day Ghana
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
August 22 Wednesday Eid-Il-Adha** Ghana
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 21 Friday Founder’s Day Ghana
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S./Ghana
December 26 Wednesday Boxing Day Ghana