Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Finnish holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and Finish national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below. 

                                                                Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018

Date Day Holiday Country
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Finnish
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S./Finnish
December 26 Wednesday 2nd Christmas Day Finnish
Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day U.S./Finnish
January 6* Sunday Epiphany Finnish
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 18 Monday Presidents’ Day U.S.
April 19 Friday Good Friday Finnish
April 22 Monday Easter Monday Finnish
May 1 Wednesday May Day Finnish
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
May 30 Thursday Ascension Day Finnish
June 21 Friday Midsummer's Eve Finnish
June 22 Saturday Midsummer's Day Finnish
July 4 Thursday Independence Day U.S.
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 14 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 2** Saturday All Saint's Day Finnish
November 11 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 6 Friday Independence Day Finnish
December 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Finnish
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S./Finnish
December 26 Thursday 2nd Christmas Day Finnish
 

 *Holidays that fall on a Sunday are observed on the following Monday.
**Holidays that fall on a Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday.