Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Finnish holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and Finish national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below. 

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Sunday New Year's Day U.S./Finnish
January 2 Monday Second New Year's Day U.S.
January 6 Friday Epiphany Finnish
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 20 Monday Presidents’ Day U.S.
April 14 Friday Good Friday Finnish
April 17 Monday Easter Monday Finnish
May 1 Monday May Day Finnish
May 25 Thursday Ascension Day Finnish
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 23 Friday Midsummer's Eve Finnish
June 24 Saturday Midsummer's Day Finnish
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 4 Saturday All Saint's Day Finnish
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 6 Wednesday Independence Day Finnish
December 24 Sunday Christmas Eve Finnish
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S./Finnish
December 26 Tuesday 2nd Christmas Day Finnish
January 1, 2018 Monday New Year's Day U.S./Finnish