Holidays and Closures

On this page:


The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Finnish holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and Finish national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below. 

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year's Day U.S./Finnish
January 6* Saturday Epiphany Finnish
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.
February 19 Monday Presidents’ Day U.S.
March 30 Friday Good Friday Finnish
April 2 Monday Easter Monday Finnish
May 1 Tuesday May Day Finnish
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day Finnish
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 22 Friday Midsummer's Eve Finnish
June 23 Saturday Midsummer's Day Finnish
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 3* Saturday All Saint's Day Finnish
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 6 Thursday Independence Day Finnish
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve Finnish
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S./Finnish
December 26 Wednesday 2nd Christmas Day Finnish

 *Holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the Friday before.