Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and the Visa Application Center observe both U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy and VAC Dates of Closure

The U.S. Embassy and VAC will be closed on the dates shown below.

 

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Month Day Holiday Domincan/U.S.
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day D.R./U.S.
January 6 Saturday Epiphany Day D.R.
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
January 21 Sunday Dia de Ntra. Sra. De la Altagracia D.R.
January 29 Monday In Observance of Dia de Duarte D.R.
February 19 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
February 27 Tuesday Dominican Independence Day D.R.
       
March 30 Friday Good Friday D.R.
April 30 Monday In Observance Dominican Labor Day D.R.
May 28  Monday Memorial Day U.S.
May 31 Thursday Corpus Christi D.R.
July 4 Wednesday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 16 Thursday Dominican Restoration Day D.R.
September 3 Monday U.S. Labor Day U.S.
September 24 Monday Dia de Ntra. Sra. De las Mercedes D.R.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 5 Monday In Observance of Dominican Constitution D.R.
November 12 Monday In Observance of Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas day D.R./U.S.