Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and the Visa Application Center observe both U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy and VAC Dates of Closure

The U.S. Embassy and VAC will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2016
Month Day Holiday Domincan/U.S.
November 6 Sunday Dominican Constitution D.R.
November 11 Friday Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Sunday Christmas Day D.R.
December 26 Monday In Observance of Christmas Day U.S.

 

 

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Month Day Holiday Domincan/U.S.
January 1 Sunday New Year’s Day D.R.
January 2 Monday In Observance of New Year's Day U.S.
January 9 Monday In Observance of Epiphany Day D.R.
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S.
January 21 Saturday Dia de Ntra. Sra. De la Altagracia D.R.
January 30 Monday In Observance of Dia de Duarte D.R.
February 20 Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
February 27 Monday Dominican Independence Day D.R.
April 14 Friday Good Friday D.R.
April 16 Sunday Easter D.R.
May 1 Monday Dominican Labor Day D.R.
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 15 Thursday Corpus Christi D.R.
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
August 16 Wednesday Dominican Restoration Day D.R.
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 24 Sunday Dia de Ntra. Sra. De las Mercedes D.R.
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 6 Monday Dominican Constitution D.R.
November 10 Friday In Observance of Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day D.R.