Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy or Consulate observes both U.S. and Czech holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center is closed weekends and Czech national holidays, as observed by the U.S. posts.

U.S. Embassy or Consulate Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the U.S. Embassy or Consulate will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Sunday New Year’s Day Czech
January 2 Monday New Year's Day U.S.
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday Washington's Birthday U.S.
April 14 Friday Good Friday Czech
April 17 Monday Easter Monday Czech
May 1 Monday Labor Day Czech
May 8 Monday Liberation Day Czech
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
July 5 Wednesday Cyril & Methodius Day Czech
July 6 Thursday Jan Hus Day Czech
September 4 Monday U.S. Labor Day U.S.
September 28 Thursday Statehood Day/ St Wenceslas Day Czech
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 28 Saturday Czechoslovak Independence Day Czech
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 17 Friday Struggle for Freedom Day Czech
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 24 Sunday Christmas Eve Czech
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S. & Czech
December 26 Tuesday St. Stephen’s Day Czech