Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Costa Rican holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application call center is closed on Sundays, on December 25, and on January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2019, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Tuesday New Year’s Day U.S./Costa Rica
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day U.S.
February 18 Monday President’s Day U.S.
April 11 Thursday Juan Santamaría Costa Rica
April 18 Thursday Holy Thursday Costa Rica
April 19 Friday Good Friday Costa Rica
May 1 Wednesday Labor Day Costa Rica
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Thursday Independence Day U.S.
July 25 Thursday Guanacaste Annexation Costa Rica
August 2 Friday Lady of Los Angeles Costa Rica
August 15 Thursday Mother's Day Costa Rica
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 13 Friday Independence Day Costa Rica
October 11 Friday Culture’s Day Costa Rica
October 14 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 11 Monday Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S./Costa Rica