Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Costa Rican holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application call center is closed on Sundays, on December 25, and on January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 2 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Costa Rica
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday U.S.
February 20 Monday President’s Day U.S.
April 11 Tuesday Juan Santamaria Costa Rica
April 13 Thursday Holy Thursday Costa Rica
April 14 Friday Good Friday Costa Rica
May 1 Monday Labor Day Costa Rica
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S.
July 25 Tuesday Guanacaste Annexation Costa Rica
August 2 Wednesday Lady of Los Angeles Costa Rica
August 15 Tuesday Mother's Day Costa Rica
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 15 Friday Independece Day Costa Rica
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 16 Monday Culture’s Day Costa Rica
November 10 Friday Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S./Costa Rica