Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Costa Rican holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application call center is closed on Sundays, on December 25, and on January 1.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure – All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day U.S./Costa Rica
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day U.S.
February 19 Monday President’s Day U.S.
March 29 Thursday Holy Thursday Costa Rica
March 30 Friday Good Friday Costa Rica
April 11 Wednesday Juan Santamaría Costa Rica
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day Costa Rica
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
July 25 Wednesday Guanacaste Annexation Costa Rica
August 2 Thursday Lady of Los Angeles Costa Rica
August 15 Wednesday Mother's Day Costa Rica
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
September 14 Friday Independece Day Costa Rica
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
October 15 Monday Culture’s Day Costa Rica
November 12 Monday Veteran’s Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S./Costa Rica