Holidays and Closures

On this page:


The U.S. Embassy and Consulates General observe both U.S. and Chinese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Chinese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy or Consulate General Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy or Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day U.S / China
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S
February 15-20 Thurs-Tues Chinese (Lunar) New Year China
February 19 Monday President's Day U.S
April 5 Thursday Tomb Sweeping Day China
May 1 Tuesday International Labor Day China
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S
June 18 Monday Dragon Boat Festival China
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S
September 24 Monday Mid-Autumn Festival China
October 1-3 Mon- Wed Chinese National Day  China
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day U.S