Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and Consulates General observes both U.S. and Chinese holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Chinese holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy or Consulate General Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Embassy or Consulate General will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1-2 Sun-Mon New Year’s Day U.S / China
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday U.S
January 27-31 Fri-Tue Chinese (Lunar) New Year China
February 20 Monday President's Day U.S
April 4 Tuesday Tomb Sweeping Day China
May 1 Monday International Labor Day China
May 29 Monday Memorial Day U.S
May 30 Tuesday Dragon Boat Festival China
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day U.S
September 4 Monday Labor Day U.S
October 1-6 Sun-Fri Chinese National Day and Mid-Autumn Festival China
October 9 Monday Columbus Day U.S
November 10 Friday Veterans Day U.S
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S
December 25 Monday Christmas Day U.S