Holidays and Closures

On this page:


The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Swiss holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Swiss holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday


January 1, 2018

Monday New Year's Day Swiss / U.S

January 2

Tuesday Saint Berchtold Swiss
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Day U.S.

February 19

Monday Washington’s Birthday U.S.
March 30 Friday Good Friday Swiss
April 2 Monday Easter Monday Swiss
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day Swiss
May 21 Monday Whitmonday Swiss
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day U.S.
August 1 Wednesday Swiss National Day Swiss
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 12 Friday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day Swiss
December 26 Wednesday St. Stephen's Day Swiss