Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Bulgarian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center is closed on Saturdays, Sundays, January 1, and December 25.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2017, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017
Date Day Holiday
January 2 Monday New Year's Day #♦
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King Day #
February 20 Monday Presidents’ Day #
March 3 Friday National Day
April 14 Friday Good Friday ♦
April 17 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday
May 1 Monday Labor Day 
May 24 Wednesday Saints Cyril & Methodius Day ♦
May 29 Monday Memorial Day #
July  4 Tuesday Independence Day #
September 4 Monday Labor Day #
September 6 Wednesday Unification Day ♦
September 22 Friday Independence Day
October 9 Monday Columbus Day  #
November 10 Friday Veterans Day
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day #
December 25 Monday Christmas Day #
December 26 Tuesday Day After Christmas 

# denotes American holiday
♦ denotes Bulgarian holiday

Note:  The following Bulgarian holidays in 2017 fall on Saturdays and Sundays: New Year’s Day (January 1, Sunday), Orthodox Easter (April 15-16, Saturday and Sunday); St. George’s Day and Day of Valor of the Bulgarian Army (May 6, Saturday), and Christmas Eve (December 24, Sunday)