Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy observes both U.S. and Bulgarian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center is closed on Saturdays, Sundays, January 1, and December 25.

Embassy Dates of Closure

During the year 2018, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Date Day Holiday
January 1 Monday New Year's Day #♦
January 15 Monday Martin Luther King Day #
February 19 Monday Presidents’ Day #
March 5 Monday National Day
April 6 Friday Good Friday ♦
April 9 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday
May 1 Tuesday Labor Day 
May 7 Monday St. George’s Day and Day of Valor of the Bulgarian Army (observed) ♦
May 24 Thursday Saint Cyril & Methodius Day ♦
May  28 Monday Memorial Day #
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day #
September 3 Monday Labor Day #
September 6 Thursday Unification Day
September 24 Monday Independence Day (observed) 
October 8 Monday Columbus Day #
November 12 Monday Veterans Day #
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day # 
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day
December 26 Wednesday Day after Christmas

# denotes American holiday

♦ denotes Bulgarian holiday

Note:  The following Bulgarian holidays in 2018 fall on Saturdays and Sundays:  National Day (March 3, Saturday), Orthodox Easter (April 7-8, Saturday and Sunday), St. George’s Day (May 6, Sunday), Independence Day (September 22, Saturday)