Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and other U.S. agencies in Ouagadougou observe both U.S. and Burkinabe holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Burkinabe holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Embassy Dates of Closure

In 2018, the U.S. Embassy will be closed on the below dates.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
DATE DAY OF WEEK HOLIDAY COUNTRY
January 1 Monday New Year’s Day U.S., Burkina Faso
January 3 Wednesday Burinka Faso National Day Burkina Faso
January 15 Monday MLK Birthday U.S.
February 19 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 8 Thursday International Women's Day Burkina Faso
April 2 Monday Easter Monday Burkina Faso
May 1 Tuesday International Labor Day Burkina Faso
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day Burkina Faso
May 28 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 15** Monday Aid-Al Fitr/Ramadan Burkina Faso
July 4 Wednesday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 6 Monday Independence Day Burkina Faso
August 15 Wednesday Assomption Day Burkina Faso
August 21** Saturday Aid-El Kebir/Tabaski Burkina Faso
September 3 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 8 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 1 Thursday All Saints' Day Burkina Faso
November 12 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 11 Tuesday Commemoration of Independece & Mouloud Burkina Faso
December 25
Tuesday Christmas Day U.S., Burkina Faso