Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Consulate observes both U.S. and Australian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The call center observes U.S. and Australian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

Consulate Dates of Closure

 During the year 2017, the Embassy will be closed on the dates shown below.

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2017

Public Holiday

Country

Observed By

Date Observed

New Year’s Day

U.S./Australia

All posts

Monday, January 2, 2017

Martin Luther King, Jr’s Birthday

U.S.

All posts

Monday, January 16, 2017

Australia Day

Australia

All posts

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Presidents Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, February 20, 2017

Labor Day

Australia

Perth only

Monday, March 6, 2017

Labor Day

Australia

Melbourne only

Monday, March 13, 2017

Canberra Day

Australia

Canberra only

Monday, March 13, 2017

Good Friday

Australia

All posts

Friday, April 14, 2017

Easter Monday

Australia

All posts

Monday, April 17, 2017

Anzac Day

Australia

All posts

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Memorial Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, May 29, 2017

Western Australia Day

Australia

Perth only

Monday, June 5, 2017

Queen’s Birthday

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney only

Monday, June 12, 2017

Independence Day

U.S.

All posts

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Civic Holiday

Australia

Sydney only

Monday, August 7, 2017

Labor Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, September 4, 2017

Queen’s Birthday

Australia

Perth only

Monday, September 25, 2017

Family and Community Day

Australia

Canberra only

Monday, September 25, 2017

AFL Grand Final Day

Australia

Melbourne only

TBD

Labor Day

Australia

Canberra, Sydney only

Monday, October 2, 2017

Columbus Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, October 9, 2017

Melbourne Cup Day

Australia

Melbourne only

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Veterans Day

U.S.

All posts

Friday, November 10, 2017

Thanksgiving Day

U.S.

All posts

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Day

U.S./Australia

All posts

Monday,  December 25, 2017

Boxing day

Australia

All posts

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

New Year’s Day

U.S./ Australia

All posts

Monday, January 1, 2018

 

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018

Public Holiday

Country

Observed By

Date Observed

New Year's Day

U.S./Australia

All posts

Monday, January 01, 2018

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, January 15, 2018

Australia Day

Australia

All posts

Friday, January 26, 2018

Presidents Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, February 19, 2018

Labour Day

Australia

Perth only

Monday, March 05, 2018

Labour Day

Australia

Melbourne only

Monday, March 12, 2018

Canberra Day

Australia

Canberra only

Monday, March 12, 2018

Good Friday

Australia

All posts

Friday, March 30, 2018

Easter Monday

Australia

All posts

Monday, April 02, 2018

ANZAC Day

Australia

All posts

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Memorial Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, May 28, 2018

Reconciliation Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, May 28, 2018

Western Australia Day

Australia

Perth only

Monday, June 04, 2018

Queen's Birthday

Australia

Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney only

Monday, June 11, 2018

Independence Day

U.S.

All posts

Wednesday, July 04, 2018

Civic Holiday

Australia

Sydney only

Monday, August 06, 2018

Labor Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, September 03, 2018

Queen's Birthday

Australia

Perth only

Monday, September 24, 2018

AFL Grand Final Day

Australia

Melbourne only

TBD

Labour Day

Australia

Canberra, Sydney only

Monday, October 01, 2018

Columbus Day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, October 08, 2018

Melbourne Cup

Australia

Melbourne only

Tuesday, November 06, 2018

Veterans day

U.S.

All posts

Monday, November 12, 2018

Thanksgiving Day

U.S.

All posts

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Christmas Day

U.S./Australia

All posts

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Boxing Day

Australia

All posts

Wednesday, December 26, 2018

New Year's Day

U.S./ Australia

All posts

Tuesday, January 1, 2019